Sustaining Innovation

Astex Pharmaceuticals is a world leader in innovative drug discovery. The Sustaining Innovation Postdoctoral Training Program aims to maintain and further enhance the Company’s excellent scientific culture. This is an opportunity to join a diverse and dynamic team exploring new ideas that are relevant to and may enhance our drug discovery approach.

Astex scientists have pioneered Fragment-Based Drug Discovery, generating multiple new drug candidates that are progressing through clinical development.

What we offer

  • Opportunities to learn about drug design from target evaluation to the clinic
  • Cutting edge research in structural biology
  • Access to novel tool molecules, targets and insights in cancer biology and drug discovery
  • Development of new technologies for fragment-based drug design
  • Participation in collaborations with world-leading academic groups and institutes
  • The Chris Abell Sustaining Innovation Award is awarded annually to a member of staff for excellence in post-doctoral scientific research achievement at Astex

Join us in sustaining innovation

Our Postdoctoral training programs are for high calibre PhD scientists to perform cutting-edge research in an innovative and dynamic research environment.

Postdoctoral Fellows are expected to perform exploratory research as part of a multi-disciplinary team and publish in high impact scientific journals.

Astex is always looking to attract highly motivated PhD scientists from multiple research areas, including Neuroscience, Computational Chemistry, Bioinformatics, Structural Biology, Biophysics, Medicinal Chemistry and Cancer Biology.

Applicants may also propose their own scientific projects in drug discovery technology.

Please click here to view our current Sustaining Innovation Postdoctoral Fellowship opportunities.